PM Modi’s Security Breach Live: Punjab Forms Probe Panel On Breach



PM Modi's Security Breach Live Updates: Punjab Forms Probe Panel On Breach

PM Modi’s Security Breach: A report has been demanded from intelligence agencies over the security lapse.

New Delhi:

A high-level team to probe security lapses into Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit has been set by the Punjab government today. The committee will submit a report in three days.

A “serious security lapse” happened when Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was scheduled to visit Ferozepur yesterday, was stuck on a flyover for 15-20 minutes, the Home Ministry said in a statement yesterday, seeking a report from the Punjab government.

PM Modi landed at Bathinda on Wednesday morning from where he was to go to the National Martyrs Memorial at Hussainiwala by helicopter. Due to rain and poor visibility, the Prime Minister waited for about 20 minutes for the weather to clear out.

When the weather did not improve, it was decided that PM Modi would visit the National Martyrs Memorial via road, which would take more than two hours. PM Modi proceeded to travel by road after necessary security arrangements were made.

When Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s convoy reached the flyover, it was found that the road was blocked by some protestors owing to which he was stuck on a flyover for 15-20 minutes.

“This was a major lapse in the security of the Prime Minister. The Prime Minister’s schedule and travel plan was communicated well in advance to the Punjab Government. As per procedure, they have to make necessary arrangements for logistics, security as well as keep a contingency plan ready,” the Home Ministry’s statement said.

Jan 06, 2022 11:32 (IST)

PM Modi Security Breach LIVE Updates: Punjab Forms Panel To Probe PM Modi’s Security Breach
The Punjab government on Thursday constituted a two-member high-level committee to conduct a thorough probe into the “lapses” that occurred during Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Ferozepur, an official spokesperson said.

The committee comprises Justice (Retd.) Mehtab Singh Gill and Principal Secretary, Home Affairs and Justice, Anurag Verma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *